Library System Change Approved

At the Waukesha County Board meeting on June 23, 2015, the Waukesha County Board of Supervisors approved the ordinance to add Jefferson County to the Waukesha County Federated Library System (WCFLS).  A single county system since its inception in 1981, the Waukesha County Federated Library System currently includes the 16 public libraries in the following communities in Waukesha County:  Big Bend, Brookfield, Butler, Delafield, Eagle, Elm Grove, Hartland, Menomonee Falls, Mukwonago, Muskego, New Berlin, North Lake, Oconomowoc, Pewaukee, Sussex, and Waukesha.  Beginning on January 1, 2016, the 8 libraries of Jefferson County will be joining the library system and the CAFE catalog.  The 8 libraries of Jefferson County are located in the following communities:  Fort Atkinson, Jefferson, Johnson Creek, Lake Mills, Palmyra, Waterloo, Watertown, and Whitewater.  You can read more about the change HERE.  We are very excited about the opportunity to partner and look forward to creating an exciting new chapter in our library system’s history!

We’ll be renaming our library system to reflect the fact that we’ll be a two county library system starting next year.  If you have ideas on a new name, please submit them below.  We’d love as many creative ideas to choose from as possible!