American Library Association Announces Youth Media Awards

Youth Media Award Winners & Honors


The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

 “The Crossover,” written by Kwame Alexander, is the 2015 Newbery Medal winner.

Two Newbery Honor Books also were named: “El Deafo” by Cece Bell, illustrated by Cece Bell; “Brown Girl Dreaming,” written by Jacqueline Woodson


Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

“I’ll Give You the Sun,” written by Jandy Nelson, is the 2015 Printz Award winner.

Four Printz Honor Books also were named: “And We Stay,” by Jenny Hubbard; “The Carnival at Bray,” by Jessie Ann Foley; “Grasshopper Jungle,” by Andrew Smith; “This One Summer,” by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Jillian Tamaki.


Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

“The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend,” illustrated by Dan Santat, is the 2015 Caldecott Medal winner. The book was written by Dan Santat.

Six Caldecott Honor Books also were named: “Nana in the City,” illustrated by Lauren Castillo, written by Lauren Castillo; “The Noisy Paint Box: The Colors and Sounds of Kandinsky’s Abstract Art,” illustrated by Mary GrandPré, written by Barb Rosenstock; “Sam & Dave Dig a Hole,” illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett. “Viva Frida,” illustrated by Yuyi Morales, written by Yuyi Morales; “The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus,” illustrated by Melissa Sweet, written by Jen Bryant. “This One Summer,” illustrated by Jillian Tamaki, written by Mariko Tamaki.


Request any of these titles from the CAFE catalog.

Detailed list of Youth Media Award Winners: